Visit our Colorado State Extension office for more news, tools and resources.

Colorado State University Extension offices like the one in Jefferson County bring the research and resources of the university within easy reach, and our staff are here to help.

100 Years of Helping Jeffco Residents

1914: Extension Services Begin Nationwide

Cooperative Extension began nationwide in 1914 when Congress passed the Smith-Lever Act. This Act established state Extension services as a third program branch – along with teaching and research – of the nation’s land grant universities, one of which is Colorado State University.

1917: CSU Extension Jeffco Opens

Colorado State University Extension opened its doors in Jefferson County in 1917. Organizing a farm bureau and controlling prairie dogs were priority projects.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *